## **COTTONWOOD HEIGHTS**

## RESOLUTION No. 2023-19

## A RESOLUTION CONSENTING TO APPOINTMENTS TO THE COTTONWOOD HEIGHTS PARKS, TRAILS AND OPEN SPACE COMMITTEE

WHEREAS, Part 7 of Chapter 2.140 of the COTTONWOOD HEIGHTS CODE OF ORDINANCES (the "Code"), comprising Code Sections 2.140.701 through 2.140.705, establishes the Parks, Trails and Open Space Committee (the "Committee") as one of the advisory committees for the city of Cottonwood Heights (the "City"); and

WHEREAS, Code §2.140.703(B) provides that the Committee shall consist of up to 15 members, of which at least 13 are City residents, with a demonstrated interest, competence or knowledge concerning parks, trails and open space; and

WHEREAS, Code §2.140.104 provides that members of the Committee shall be appointed and removed by the city manager (the "Manager") with advice and consent of the city council (the "Council"), and that the terms of office shall be three years, with the terms of office of the initial members staggered as necessary so that the terms of approximately one-third of the members expire each year; and

WHEREAS, the Council met on 18 April 2023 to, among other things, (a) consider approving the appointments of (i) Jennifer Cottam to the Committee to replace former member Greg Hilbig, and (ii) Chelsea Voss to replace former member Larry Alserda, and (b) ratify and consent to the current composition of membership of the Committee; and

WHEREAS, the Manager has nominated the aforementioned persons to serve terms of office commencing immediately and ending on the dates specified below or until their successors are approved; and

**WHEREAS**, after careful consideration, the Council has determined that it is in the best interests of the health, safety and welfare of the citizens of the City to give advice and to consent to such appointments to the Committee as proposed by the Manager;

**NOW THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED** by the city council of the city of Cottonwood Heights that the Council hereby gives advice and consents to the appointment of the aforementioned persons to the Committee, and hereby ratifies and gives advice and consents to the status of the following individuals as all of the current members of the Committee for the terms of office set forth opposite each name or until their successors are approved:

<u>Name</u>	<b>District</b>	<b>Term Expires</b>
Jennifer Cottam	1	30 June 2023
Ben Hill	(CH Rec. Serv. Area)	N/A
Bruce Jorgensen	4	30 June 2023
Paula McFarland	3	30 June 2023
Michael Menssen	1	30 June 2023
Chris Owens	2	30 June 2023

Chelsea Voss	3	30 June 2024
Zachery Geiger	2	30 June 2024
Sarah Ricketts	2	30 June 2024
Jennifer Follstad Shah	4	30 June 2024
Ronna Cohen	2	30 June 2025
Erin Davis	1	30 June 2025
Matthew Dominesey	2	30 June 2025
Melissa Fields	4	30 June 2025

This Resolution, assigned no. 2023-19, shall take effect immediately upon passage.

PASSED AND APPROVED effective 18 April 2023.

By: The Market Strongwood	By: M. A.	GHTS CITY COUNCIL
Paula Melgar, Recorder	Michael T. Weichers VOTING:	s, Mayor
	Michael T. Weichers	Yea X Nay
	Douglas Petersen	Yea Slyayen+
	J. Scott Bracken	Yea_/ Nay
	Shawn E. Newell	Yea 🚣 Nay
	Ellen Birrell	Yea   ✓ Nav

**DEPOSITED** in the office of the City Recorder this 18<sup>th</sup> day of April 2023.

**RECORDED** this  $\[ \underline{\mathcal{O}} \]$  day of April 2023.